Monochrome factor

So what is the monochrome factor and how can it be equally and sometimes even more seductive than the use of color?

The pioneer photographer Joel Sternfeld once said that:

“Black and white is abstract; color is not. Looking at a black and white photograph, you are already looking at a strange world.”

This ‘strange world’ has been one of my favorite itineraries via the use of black and white analogue photography as the dark room allows the traveler to experience all the parts of the journey with the right degrees of anticipation and the realistic expectations of a worthwhile stóchos .

When it comes to drawing, charcoal, ink and pencil excel in interpreting the form from the absolute minimalism to the utter realism and its meticulous depiction of light and shadow. The same applies to my all time favorite expressionism, it was through the use of charcoal anyway that I initially enjoyed the dramatic contrast that only black&white entails.

Nevertheless, it was not until I used acrylics in the monochromatic arena, that I got the feeling as if floating in a smooth sea of mist, sand and water. That, eventually filled me with serenity. The ‘strange world’ now became a place that could complement the diversity of my work and the ‘monochrome factor’ the key to it.

